A telephone call to the Australian Taxation Office.


Yesterday I had reason to make a quick telephone call to the department of the Australian Taxation Office…I needed information about GST and whether I had to pay it on the Torque Workcentre if it was being exported to the USA….

After I go through  the usual press 2 then press 1 and press 2 again option… I was not expecting the following message… not quite verbatim…..

“All our customer service officers are busy with other calls and will be for the next 38 minutes.. If you like, we will return your call then … note you will not loose your place in the cue… leave your number and say your name..”

OK I figure I can use 38 minutes better than listening to MUSAK…so I leave my name and number…

Wait for it…..

About 38 minutes later … give or take…. the phone rings… .

“This is your call back from the ATO … please hold for a customer representative…” [or something similar]

Three rings and  the phone is answered by a real person

Time to  ask my questions…I am given the right information… no I don’t need to pay GST if the goods are shipped withing 60 days of invoicing… well I plan to get them out a hella lot quicker than that … so not a problem… all is good… and they offer to send me a PDF file covering the information that I requested.

This File arrives via email within 30 minutes of the phone call…

I am very impressed with the service….polite, courteous, knowledgeable and very helpful….it is a pity that all enquiries by phone do not go so smoothly…

So a gold star to the Australian Taxation Office and their employees… a big thank you very much..

About Lazy Larry

Just a woodworker sharing some of the things learnt the hard way... so you don't make the same mistakes...
This entry was posted in General, Torque and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A telephone call to the Australian Taxation Office.

  1. Brian Meeks says:

    I like a post about good news. Well done.

Leave a Reply

