Greene and Greene.


In a hope to increase my working knowledge of furniture design and manufacture… I have just ordered Darrell Peart‘s new book..

“Greene & Greene: Design Elements for the Workshop”

I also intend to try a more traditional approach and learn how to use hand tools more in my work… From what I have been reading, many woodworkers are finding more satisfaction in hand work… I know that I am probably preaching to the converted but I am predominantly an electron killer…

This is not to say that I will not use power tools and machines for my production work but when I need to enter a more ZEN state… then out will come the hand tools…

Rbn-tool

Wooden hand plane.

I expect the book to arrive in the next few weeks from the US and then I will let you know what I think of it… from the reviews I have read, I am in for a pleasant few days reading…

About Lazy Larry

Just a woodworker sharing some of the things learnt the hard way... so you don't make the same mistakes...
This entry was posted in General, techniques, workshop and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Greene and Greene.

  1. Torch02 says:

    It is a very nice read. It really is a technique instruction book, but Darrell includes enough background about Charles & Henry that you get a feel for why and not just how.

    Although I am a little confused about pairing this purchase with a desire for more hand tool work – Darrell burns a lot of electrons in creating his pieces.

  2. Looks like an interesting book, Larry. Perhaps more-so than the usual ‘how to’ or ‘top ten’ step-by-step guides… Looks like it may go in to more specifics and design details, which you don’t seem to see on the shelves very often.

    I look forward to reading your thoughts once it’s arrived. 🙂

    Olly.

Leave a Reply

