What to do with a slab of White Cedar…


My good mate and fellow woodworker, Col, lobbed over yesterday with a small slab of White Cedar…

He wanted me to break it down and dress it up…

The slab was just over 2 metres [6 feet] long and 50 mm [2 inches] thick and just wide enough to fit in my thickenesser.. ie 380 mm [or 15 inches] wide..

It was a good thing that the slab was both flat and straight… otherwise I would have had to take it over to the TWC to flatten one surface… my jointer is not that wide… but as I said flat and straight…

Since there were a few large cracks running through part of the slab, we decided that the best use for it was a few small boxes and a serving tray…..I cut it into more manageable pieces …

Here is a shot of the last piece I crosscut on my sled…

Even in the rough sawn state you can see the cathedral rays… nice bit of lumber…

After cross cutting… it went into the 15 inch Carb-a-tec Thicknesser … you can see from this shot the before and after ….went through it like butter…and revealed such a lovely grain.

There is also a good deal of spalting in the board..

Next step was to have a straight edge to reference from… so off to the jointer..

50 mm is  a little thick … so now we slipped over to the bandsaw and did a quick resaw..

Sorry to scare you all… with photos of me.. and too lazy to change the blade so I did the resaw with the 1/4 inch blade that was on the bandsaw… took it slow and steady and did a fair job of it…

When I had finished with the resaw and run the boards through the thicknesser again… I laid them out and checked the book match….

A little Mineral Turpentine to bring out the grain and color… and another close up of the grain in the next photo..

A tiny bit of fiddleback… quilting… on the end…

I am thinking that this will be the perfect piece for the top of a small end table..

Stay tuned…

About Lazy Larry

Just a woodworker sharing some of the things learnt the hard way... so you don't make the same mistakes...
This entry was posted in General, project, techniques, workshop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What to do with a slab of White Cedar…

  1. Lew says:

    Beautiful grain. I agree, this would make a great table top.
    Lew

  2. looks nice, haven’t used white cedar before, actually has a bit of colour to it.

  3. Bill says:

    Wondered who the offsider was then realised! Happy Haircut!
    The way you have bookmarked the wood is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

