Double Step Chopping Board.


Bless me Father for I have sinned..It has been 25 days since my last cutting board post..

As part of a Xmas order, I have started to make the illustrious Double Step by SPalm… thanks Steve.

I selected some timber to make this with… Tasmanian Blackwood, Silver Ash and Queensland Maple.. then went over to the table saw to set the blade to 60 degrees… bugger can’t find my bevel box…

Oh well just have to take a wild stab and use one of the trivets I made that have 120 degree corners…actually not too bad… just half a degree out… a little fine adjustment and I am ready to cut the double bevel.

A bit of glue [titebond III] and I have some logs to cut… Of course I did not read the entire blog.. just went ahead and glued all the bevels together in the same order… mistake…

I then had to re mill some more timber and glue the double bevels in the other order… Read Steve’s blog and you will understand…

Then off to the ChopSaw and setting the length of cut to 50 mm, cut all the triangles…

This board will end up being around 450 mm by 320 mm and 50 mm thick. Now for some pics of the dry fit..

So now for the fun part.. glue up… and then a lot of sanding…stay tuned..

About Lazy Larry

Just a woodworker sharing some of the things learnt the hard way... so you don't make the same mistakes...
This entry was posted in General, project, techniques, workshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Double Step Chopping Board.

  1. Bill says:

    Wow, once again you excel.
    and as usual the follow the link, led to half an hour pointin an a clikin, man there are some talented LJers!
    Regards
    Bill

  2. yaakov says:

    That is simply georgous! I will have to try that method. Thanks for sharing it!
    yaakov….

Leave a Reply

