Bearings for a Lazy Larry…


When you add it all up, I have made several hundred Lazy Larrys…and for the longest time I have been using the pressed metal Lazy Susan Bearing… I have had some good and some bad… not bad for the price… except if you don’t get them from Carb-a-tec…

Not a real problem but you also have to have a base for the bearing… more work…

I went searching for a better bearing…

I found them but the price was prohibitive… not to mention shipping…

Lee Valley in Canada seemed to be the only place where I could buy a really nice bearing and only recently was I able to stay under AU$30.00 each landed in my workshop… and that was only because the dollar is on par… for a change…

On a whim, I googled what I wanted and actually found it…

Now, I am in the process of placing an order with the Manufacturer in Taiwan and hopefully be able to import them direct… Shipping cost is still a concern but I feel that I can bring them in for less than getting them from Canada or buying the pressed metal one from the big box store..

These are cast aluminium and the diameter is 235 mm but I intend to order the 300 mm ones…

Not only are they pretty, they are really smooth and quiet… and you can use them without a wooden base IF you want… I have installed the 235’s  on LLs up to 500 mm diameter and they are still relatively stable…so with the 300 mm they should be great…

Anyone interested in purchasing some of these bearings… let me know… I will have more info soon as to pricing etc…

About Lazy Larry

Just a woodworker sharing some of the things learnt the hard way... so you don't make the same mistakes...
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

