So you want to know the angle..??


This is just a quick post to give some information regarding the way I make the wine bottle balancer…You can use other dimensions and it will still work

I did research the whole thing and found different angles and other variables…but this is what I have come up with by trial and error… to make the bottle balance in a horizontal position.. not pointing up or down… more aesthetically pleasing.. and if it looks right don’t mess with it…

Length…11 inches or 275 mm

Width… I use 2 depending on the timber 3 inch or 4 inch…. 75 mm or 100 mm

Thickness …. at least 3/4 inch or 19 mm … thicker is better… up to just over 1 inch or 25 mm [altho I have made them as thin as 1/2 inch or 12.5 mm and they still work..]

Angle for base… 4o degrees.

Angel for hole…30 degrees.

Diameter of hole… 1 1/4 inch or 30 mm and it is centred 8 inches or 200 mm from the base…

I made 18 yesterday and more to follow… now that I have the jig…

The bottle is actually horizontal… just the angle of the camera…

I did a few schmancy ones including the one above … in honour of  Patron aka David Mitchell, my friend and mentor…Who showed me how to make some of the crazy things I do now..Thank you David…

The plain timber ones are from the left….

New Guinea Rosewood, Camphor Laurel, Queensland Red Cedar, Silky Oak and White Cedar.

About Lazy Larry

Just a woodworker sharing some of the things learnt the hard way... so you don't make the same mistakes...
This entry was posted in General, project, techniques, Torque, workshop and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So you want to know the angle..??

  1. Michael Wurm says:

    Thanks Larry, now I think I can make a few. Man I love the woods and designs you made. Just fantastic. Thanks again, mike

  2. donjoe says:

    Thanks for the measurements Larry. I will make some but not as productive as on your TWC. I love that red cedar.

Leave a Reply

