Now, we’re moving.


This was a comment I received from a great LJ mate, Joe. Seems that some folks think this is dragging on… so .. Now We’re Moving….

The blanks are out of the clamps it is time to move on to the next step…

Again this lesson is on video… so just sit right back and enjoy the presentation…

There are a few key points that I wish to elaborate on….

Hearing protection …. I am aware I was lax in not using it in the previous video.. so Beth thanks … I made sure that I used it this time..

Again the use of push sticks is very important… and I used the mitre guide at the back of the piece for stability…

Grain orientation is another one of those things that get forgotten a lot… You can see from the vid that grain orientation can indeed change a piece from just good to outstanding…I have included a few variations in the video for you to choose from…Here is a sneak peek at how the boards will look oiled up… just used a little mineral spirit here..

These are the two variations that I like…

Disclaimer… I had a design change mid way through the project… I had set the fence for another job and forgot to reset it to 45 mm or 1 5/8 in … it is actually 65 mm of 2 5/8 in…thereby reducing the number of slices available and making the whole project only 360 mm or just over 14 in wide…

About Lazy Larry

Just a woodworker sharing some of the things learnt the hard way... so you don't make the same mistakes...
This entry was posted in General, project, techniques and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Now, we’re moving.

  1. Michael Wurm says:

    Nice job Larry. Good easy to follow directions, I didn’t think it was to slow, If anything it gives the wood and glue time to settle and the glue time to set up good. Two very important things. I have had boards separate in places after glue up. It’s a lot easier to fix then than two weeks later. Thanks for the tutelage.

  2. Yaakov says:

    The one on the right is fantastic! Nice work!
    yaakov….

  3. Bill Aplin says:

    Fantastic Larry, Bookends looks the best IMHO
    Raining and cold here, keeping me out of the shed but the video has fired me up to go play!

  4. Thanks, Larry. Like many others, I’m enjoying these videos of yours.

    In fact, I’ve been making some end-grain cutting boards of my own, recently… I’m not yet fortunate enough to own a drum sander so, I had to flatten all of my end-grain (after the second glue-up) using a portable belt sander. This works alright but, it left a lot of scratches that weren’t easy to remove with a random orbit sander.

    My simple question is – does your drum sander also leave scratches across the end-grain? I’d like to get one of these machines for myself one day and, while I could not afford one of the oscillating models, I would have to look very closely at the Jet 16-32.

Leave a Reply

