Getting ready for the big glue up…


I have dry-fitted the weave  … selected a melamine board a tad bigger than the weave will be.. and set up the two adjacent cauls..at right angles to each other… this will form the corner from which I will start…

You may have noticed that the cauls are only clamped to the board.. this is so that I can remove the whole glued up assembly and apply more clamps to the opposite side.. this will avoid any bowing of the  blank…

I have been in training over the week end glueing small boards for another project… in preparation for this glue up…

The french have a culinary term… Mise en Place  which means to have everything ready at hand.. I feel this is very apt …

So, have every thing ready…glue, of course, clamps set to the right size… and check that they will actually fit…having everything ready will make life just so much easier…

This afternoon I intend to film the glue up in real time and attempt to show that this CAN be done in under 10 minutes.

About Lazy Larry

Just a woodworker sharing some of the things learnt the hard way... so you don't make the same mistakes...
This entry was posted in General, project, techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting ready for the big glue up…

  1. Awesome; I wanna see that video! I was edge-trimming some veneer plywood and was thinking of making a caul-board clamp system kind of like this. Interested to see what problems arose, or how you avoided them if it goes perfectly!

  2. Michael Wurm says:

    Sueves Moi. Sorry, the only french I know, it means Follow me. It was my arm patch in the Army, 14th Armored Cav. Amazing looking weave. Makes one wonder, How’ed he do that?

Leave a Reply

