Tilting at windmills.


I sometimes feel I am tilting at windmills… just like Don Quixote… alas…

I write my blogs…. there are millions of bloggers.

I post my own website …. it is lost in the crowd.

I work in my shop…. as do millions of other woodworkers…

I list on my etsy store…. along with the several thousand other cutting board makers..

I am involved with Twitter…. only one of many..

Facebook ….ditto..

and Linked-in……same…

Oh, there is lots of activity on these sites but this time of year sales are slow… unless you want to have a sale.. and I don’t think my creations deserve that…

With all that going for me…[sarcasm] should I just give up…

Not my style to just give up….

So I think I will keep plugging along…

Recently on Letters and Numbers [shown on SBS television] David Astel was talking about how peoples names have been added to the dictionary… the most famous would have to be Mae West… the actress… and the large lifejacket of yesteryear…

Cropped screenshot of Mae West from the traile...

Image via Wikipedia

That lead to the name Steven Bradbury… you remember the short course speed skater who was tail end johnny until the leader of the race fell and took out the other racers…

Steven Bradbury… won gold….and is held up as an example of the underdog winning over great odds by never giving up..

So while I tilt at windmills and make wine tilts…. I suppose I will just have to do a “Bradbury”

And maybe one day the “Lazy Larry” will replace the lazy susan in the dictionary…

About Lazy Larry

Just a woodworker sharing some of the things learnt the hard way... so you don't make the same mistakes...
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tilting at windmills.

  1. david mitchell says:

    you are a real ‘GEM’
    in the mud bud
    here’s pushing on you
    get the gold !

  2. Dannad says:

    Larry,Larry.Larry!
    Have you ever seen the cartoon of a frog in a stalks beak?
    It all looks bleak for the frog’
    Then you notice that the frog has a firm grip around the stalks thin neck’
    motto
    Don’t ever give up
    Cheers
    Lindsay

  3. Lew says:

    Hang in there, Larry!

    Remember, in front of every silver lining- there is a dark cloud!

    Lew

  4. Michael Wurm says:

    I’m glad I don’t make a living off my work, I’d be a very poor and starving artist. Look at it as giving you a chance to work on your inventory. You have the skill to try something new and innovative. Hell, build a better light bulb. You have the ability, to come up with something stunning. I’m just saying…….

  5. “Just remember you are unique, just like everyone else.” – Margaret Mead

    (Great post, Larry. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

Leave a Reply

