My biggest board yet… part 3


Well, the first blank was in clamps over night…

Now a few light passes through the drum sander.

This board is too large just to push against the fence to cross cut the engrain slices and I have not made a sled for my new table saw so I attached a block of wood to the incra mitre guage and used it backwards.  By backwards I do not mean I cut backwards… just had the guage on the other side of the blank as I pushed it forward…

 
To hold it steady I clamped the blank to the block… and used the fence as a way of measuring the 50 mm or 2 inches I decided on for thickness..
After the board was in the right position for the cut and clamped, I move the fence away..

This is done so that the cut piece is not pinched between the blade and the fence… very dangerous..

After cutting all the pieces they were rolled and flipped… here is a sneak peek..

[TIP… run all four side of each piece through the Drum Sander… a little extra work but you will find the fit a lot better…]

About Lazy Larry

Just a woodworker sharing some of the things learnt the hard way... so you don't make the same mistakes...
This entry was posted in General, project, techniques and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My biggest board yet… part 3

  1. Michael Wurm says:

    Now that is one gorgeous board.

  2. Lew says:

    Larry,
    I really love the colors and the way you used them to create an even more interesting pattern.

    Lew

  3. Bill says:

    Been on Holidays and haven’t turned the PC on for ages.
    Love the boards and your tip about how to cut the big boards will be used as I had not thought to reverse the mitre guage, Thanks Larry you continue to be an insperation. Best wishes for 2012.
    Regards
    Bill

Leave a comment