Rite of passage


For many people, a rite of passage is the transition from childhood to adult hood…

For some woodworkers, it is the making of a cutting board…

But…

For those who have laser engravers… it is the Aztec Calender..

I finally decided that I needed to engrave the calender … to see just how good my laser was…

This one is 150 mm in diameter [6 inches] and is engraved on MDF…

I did a few with varying degrees of success… Speed was 750, power was 50% and I did change the focal length of the lens from 40mm to 45 mm without significant difference…

While it may not be as good as some of the very expensive lasers out there, I am really happy with the results of the Chinese Laser I bought…

The more I play, the more I find that I am in awe of the power of this machine…

More to follow…A little tease till then…

The Cape York Buffalo Co. ¬†will be the subject of several posts over the coming weeks… stay tuned…

About Lazy Larry

Just a woodworker sharing some of the things learnt the hard way... so you don't make the same mistakes...
This entry was posted in General, project, techniques and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

