Colour inlays.


To jazz up my signs, I have taken to doing some colour inlays…

Far simpler than you would think.

Prior to laser engraving, I apply masking tape to the area to be engraved.

After engraving the words etc are already masked [the laser removes the tape in the letter spaces leaving tape around the words etc ] … ready for a quick spray of fast drying rattle can enamel paint…

Then remove the tape after the paint is dry and sand any bleeding… finish with spray poly…

Here is a quick slide show of some of the signs made this week with this process…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This following pic is from my display at the Big Pineapple Farmers Market yesterday…

IMG_3045Unfortunately this was my last day at these markets..

During the week, I received a phone call advising me that my application to the Eagle Farm Markets had been successful and that I was being offered a permanent site there… [after quite a few months on the waiting list].  This is for the Sunday.  They also advised me there was a spot opened up at the Rocklea Markets on Saturdays… After some thought I decided that this was a fork in the road that I had to explore… So all those in the Brisbane area please drop in and see me…

About Lazy Larry

Just a woodworker sharing some of the things learnt the hard way... so you don't make the same mistakes...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Colour inlays.

  1. Lew says:

    Being able to “inlay” the engraving certainly is another avenue for your pieces, Larry. Congrats on the permanent location at the two markets. Hope you sell everything you make!

Leave a Reply

